I started it But maybe I did not really commit?

I began the workout routine yesterday, and my thighs are screaming at me! Last spring I had fallen into a steady workout routine and was able to maintain it through most of the summer. Then I let the dreaded I can skip a workout turn into, I will get back into the routine next week, Monday, yes Monday I will recommit. Next thing I knew school was starting and while I did begin to run on a more regular basis I was not fully working out.

However, even though I hurt I feel better about me. Being a wife and mom is hard. Sometimes, I feel my only me time is when I am working out, then I start to think how lame is that.  My me time is working out, yet the workout makes me a better wife and mom.

Sweating it out helps me refocus myself and let go of any crazy mommy emotions. I am hoping to find a better routine this time to balance the time.  Well, that is a good goal, I just have to remember one day at a time.

I find I overcommit in almost everything I do…now when I say overcommit it is short lived. For instance these are wonderful examples:

1. I am going to start to workout and I do like everyday for 5 months, then nothing.

2. I am going to diet and I do for like a week, but during that week I took dieting to a whole new level of extreme.

3. Holidays are coming, I can decorate the house. Hours and sometimes days later Pinterest page populated, running through these amazing visions with the hubby. Plan out everything I need, I can do this, get ready to head out to the craft store. What the hell was I thinking I am not crafty nor do I enjoy crafts, forget this idea I just spent days obsessing over. So this might be an example of under committing.

4. Plan out an entire two weeks of dinners. Of course proudly state the plan, go to the store buy all of the food. Monday come home make dinner, a nice family dinner. Tuesday – ehh let’s order pizza, Wednesday – you know what sounds so good? Thursday – I have to work late, how about I pick up Chinese? Friday – it has been a long week lets go out to eat. Well, I did have good intentions. I should add in about my make ahead meal ordeal, that was one long Sunday cooking for 6 hours. Guess, what never happened again?

5. Laundry why I wait until it is out of control, not sure. But I gather all of the laundry, the boys, mine, towels, etc…and begin.  However by the fourth load the laundry room looks like a bomb of clothes went off. You see I am great at washing and putting it into the dryer. It stops there. Piles of clean clothes start merging with the few clothes I did fold, which start falling into piles of dirty clothes.  You get the picture.

6. Cleaning the house. I have intentions of cleaning one room at a time, however a path of cleaning supplies weaves it way through the house and about 4 hours later one room is clean. What can I say I get distracted and my motivation wavers. Be careful do not trip over the cord of the vacuum, floor steamer, and whatever else I have left out, and please use a different toilet I am cleaning that one with the blue stuff in it that has been sitting for hours.

huh…I think I could probably list a bunch more of things I do not do, but let’s stop here, no need to make myself feel any worse.

Well, this post really got away from me. Over committing as mentioned earlier might be a misstatement lets correct that to I have a lot of really good ideas of things to do, I just do always complete the task. I will however state I do complete my work tasks, my home….working on it 😉.

Leave a comment